Volunteers for APSA 2023

Our dedicated volunteers have worked tirelessly on behalf of you, our members!

Their time involves attending committee meetings, creating proposals, writing negotiation points, meeting with senior administration and defending members via phone calls, email and in person.

In honour of National Volunteer Week (April 16-22), help us celebrate our 25 dedicated and hard-working volunteers. If you see one of these familiar faces, please thank them or email them to express your gratitude for the work they do on your behalf.


Executive Board

Jill Sutherland - President

Ben Boyle - Vice president

Jasper Stoodley - Treasurer


Directors at Large:  David Agosti, Lutte Brink, Phil Cunningham, Cindy LiMatthew Menzies (part of the Central University Health and Safety Committee)Stephanie Stewart, Tess Williams



Laya Behbahani

Advocacy, chair

Members: Phil Cunningham, Jerome FrancisSteve FrostMike PeragineMichelle Tri



Jasper Stoodley

Finance, chair

Members: Chris Claiter, Sara Du, Cindy Li, Hélène Pouliot


Pension Advisory

Jeff Bryer

Pension Advisory, chair

Allyson Biro

SFU Staff Pension Plan Board of Trustees APSA representative

Pension Committee Members: Ben Boyle, Jonathan Gudlaugson, Andrew Jenkins, Cindy Li


Salary and Benefits

Kris Nordgren

Salary & Benefits Chair

Negotiating Team - Spokesperson

Members: Jerome Francis, Cindy Li, Jill Sutherland, Tess Williams, Ellen Yap